Delaware Preservation Fund

For questions concerning the DPF grants, please email


About the Delaware Preservation Fund

The Delaware Preservation Fund provides small grants to owners of historic properties, supporting both physical restoration and preservation planning. The Delaware Preservation Fund was created by Preservation Delaware in 2000, with seed money generously provided by the Delaware General Assembly and the Longwood and Welfare Foundations.

The mission of the Delaware Preservation Fund is to assist in the preservation of the architectural heritage and the historic built environment of Delaware, through financial assistance to owners of historic properties.

The Fund’s programs target impactful work that preserves the historic character of buildings individually listed on (or eligible for) the National Register of Historic Places, or that are contributing elements in a designated National Register historic district, or that are recognized / considered eligible for local government designation. Historic resources such as cemeteries, ships, fountains, statuary, or railroad cars that may be listed individually, or which contribute to local or National Register historic districts, also qualify for consideration. Grant applications for preservation planning activities are also now eligible for consideration, including architectural/engineering planning or National Register nominations.

All work funded by the Delaware Preservation Fund must comply with the Secretary of the Interior’s Standards for the Treatment of Historic Properties, including preservation, restoration, or rehabilitation activities.

All assistance is available regardless of an applicant’s race, age, religion, gender, origin, disability, or familial status.

Delaware Preservation Fund, Inc

Board of Directors

Jeremy Rothwell (President), Smyrna Senior Planner

Dan Parsons (Secretary), Sussex County Preservation Planner

Michael McGrath (Treasurer), Preservation Delaware

Mark Chura, Principal, Chura & Associates

Abdullah Muhammad, Historian/Preservation Delaware Board of Directors

Michael McConnell. State of Delaware, Office of Management and Budget

Victoria Brennan, Office of the Controller General

C Russell McCabe, II, Governor’s representative

Elizabeth Hatch, New Castle County Preservation Planner

For more information, please email

Become A


Join Our

Mailing List